Opening words

“I write this sitting in the kitchen sink.” These words are the opening word to Dodie Smiths I Capture The Castle.  I cannot promise this book shaped my childhood but it did help me leap into the world of public speaking. My first ever high school assembly that I led with a book group at high school. We read out the first lines of books to see if people could guess them. This was one of the unknown. I managed to lead 50 high school assemblies whilst I was a pupil. Many of them were promoting reading to fellow students. One of our more popular assemblies included a video of our teachers saying we they read. For example I do this on the bus. The pupils had to guess the subject that we were talking about. It caused much hysteria and was widely used for a few years. There were many more assemblies, and lots more public speaking but my first non church engagement I will always remember saying the opening lines ‘I write this sitting in the kitchen sink.”

Daily Prompt:

Call Me Ishmael

Take the first sentence from your favorite book and make it the first sentence of your post.

Leave a Reply

