At the foot of the cross: piece of creative writing

It’s been a while since I’ve written, I have no reason or excuse. However, tonight whilst in worship with some young people I felt a little inspire, so I leave you with an ounce of creative writing.

At the foot of the cross

At the foot of the cross,

I’m here once again. 

Broken, here I stand. 

I’m worn out and tired,

But here I stand.

I see your pain flowing down

Not a tear for yourself

Or the blood that you shed. 

You weep alone for me.

My strength fails at your compassion 

And I’m on my knees 

And I freeze.

A hand on my shoulder 

And I’m not alone

A warmth spreads through my bones.

I know that I am loved

And i curl up forgetting all my needs. 

I cry, I sob, I weep.

Emotion escapes

But you keep me here in place, 

In this space. 

I know now it’s no longer a race.

It’s more than a fast living pace.

You cradle me at the foot of the cross. 

Not a place of loss, a place for the lost, 

But at the greatest cost.

So I can sit still in the precious stillness

I dont have to speak of concerns or commitments

I dont have to come with complaint or praise. 

I come and sit in the stillness of your grace.

At the foot of the cross

Through my tears of brokenness,

A smile breaks across my face.

I’m not alone

I’m not so broken 

I’m being reworked not at the greatest loss 

But at the greatest cost.

 I’m here at the foot of the cross

Once again.

Held in your arms I’m priceless.

Held in your arms I’m known.

Held in your arms I’m loved.

Held in your arms I am grown. 

I’m here at the foot of the cross

And I’ve spent my time 

Here in the beauty of your presence. 

You’ve changed my heart from the inside out. 

You wipe my final tears away, 

Draw me closer

And whisper sweetly in my ear

You say 

‘Precious child, you are dear’

‘Stand up, take heart, lay down your load’

‘Pick up my cross and my royal purple robes’

‘This is your path, it’s built for me and you’

‘Stand up, take heart, I am with you’

I’m here at the foot of the cross.

I’m moved off of my knees

I’ve here at the foot of the cross 

And I’m standing 

Reaching out for the hand.

Sharing the burden of the cross

No the burden of the cross is lost

It’s his power upon my shoulders 

Each step along this path I grow bolder 

Untill the next time I find myself there

At the foot of the cross. 

Leave a Reply

