‘There needs to be an investment in theology in the local church and I have a chance to facilitate this.’

So I’m trying to be vaguely prepared in my life and I was doing some prep for a workshop I’m hoping to lead at work on social media and the Church, and I was looking for a specific link – which I didn’t find – when I came across this delightful quote ‘There needs to be an investment in theology in the local church and I have a chance to facilitate this.’ I wrote that. For starters, personally, I feel that the first half of that sentence sounds mighty impressive. I should apologise I’ve clearly been reading to many Christian Novels based around cowboys or gold rush america. The first half of my bold statement sounds like an essay question, all it is missing is the ‘Discuss’ that makes everything a degree worthy essay question.

I have a couple of theological books, some that I’ve read all the way through and can quote, to the doorstops of the undergrad degree… Bosch for example or Wright quoted to add weight to an argument but only ever read via the index. I would love to see the look of my youth group is I said next week we would be looking at ‘elements of an emerging ecumenical mission paradigm.’ If that does float your boat David Bosch looks at just this from pages 368-511 in his book Transforming Mission : Paradigm Shifts in Theology of Mission. Tonights youth group would struggle to understand most of the words in that sentence. Living in a country with two languages I’m very aware that I talk gobbledygook, and I practice this language well. The people I work with don’t want me to be sprouting words like ‘there needs to be an investment in theology in the local church’ they just want me to be real with them. They want something authentic, not jargon, not a degree or to know that my bed time reading is currently Methodist Theology Today: A Way Forward. Last night at the Ladies Circle I was talking to (I was most disappointed when they where sat in a semi-circle), they asked me about social media was that the reason why young  people weren’t in church…. and I honestly told them no, the reason was they had forgotten to ask out loud the questions about life, love, fizzy drinks and death. They had forgotten to be authentic in their faith, to share openly, to have that vulnerability.

 

 ‘There needs to be an investment in theology in the local church and I have a chance to facilitate this.’

I still have to facilitate this, its not a demand thats been swept away by the life of working in a church, I’m just waiting out to understand the language in which I need to be able to speak it authentically – so people can see the Living Hope through it and not just a long string of words that are meaningless.

 

 ‘There needs to be an investment in theology in the local church and I have a chance to facilitate this.’ Discuss………

2 thoughts on “‘There needs to be an investment in theology in the local church and I have a chance to facilitate this.’

  1. My first response, on elements of an emerging ecumenical mission paradigm is that that would be an ecumenical matter!

    In my job, when I say that part of my role is youth participation and how to get young people involved with church, the old dears say ‘so what can we do to get more youngsters into church them?’ my response it, ‘take church to them’. Often that hour on a Sunday isn’t relevant to young people’s lives, as you say. That usually gets an awkward silence…

  2. Is it not a case to ask people where they really came to faith, in the long boring sermon, or the small group with those who where their peers? And should we not do the same today. As Paul talks of mush for babies and stake for adults…

    Also I’d say theology belongs to all, and the less big words it gets hid behind the better.

Leave a Reply

