dream it now

Image

‘Cos every feeling that you’ve lost
Is waking up inside you
And every dream you’ve cast away
Is coming back to find you

If you only do it once
Then do it now
And if you only dream it once
Then dream it now

Don’t allow your heart
To accept a prison
‘Cos you took my heart
And you gave it vision

‘Cos every feeling that you’ve lost
Is waking up inside you
And every dream you’ve cast away
Is coming back to find you
When you find your love
Don’t let it go to sleep
When you find your love
Let it go, let it go deep

‘Cos when you’ve found your love
Then you’ve found your belief

– Glass Pear, Say it once

I’ve been really struck by these words from song by Glass Pear, I overheard it as I switched my TV on to watch with my toast and tea. It was playing on One Tree Hill – which I have seen the first 4 series via boxset, its no longer my usual Thursday morning TV – I was captured by the lyrics, the brief words about dreams we once cast away coming back. One of the prayers of my week has been about, what is my vision? This song made me think maybe I don’t need to capture a new vision, just renew an old dream or two, they were laid in my heart at some point and if they’ve been laid aside because they weren’t for then, then maybe they are for now.

One of my favourite pieces of scripture is where Peter address the crowds at Pentecost using Joel’s words :

“‘In the last days, God says,
I will pour out my Spirit on all people.
Your sons and daughters will prophesy,
your young men will see visions,
your old men will dr

eam dreams.
Even on my servants, both men and women,
I will pour out my Spirit in those days,
and they will prophesy.
I will show wonders in the heavens above
and signs on the earth below,
blood and fire and billows of smoke.
The sun will be turned to darkness
and the moon to blood
before the coming of the great and glorious day of the Lord.
And everyone who calls
on the name of the Lord will be saved.’

Acts 2:17-21

I hope I’m living in some version of these last days so that my dreams and visions are anointed by God. I should make a comment on the fact that this passage is not an ‘easy’ passage, it does not end with marshmallows and bubble wrap. In spite of what I feel are glorious dreams and visions, there will be much heart ache and pain. For all those who call in his name does not mean they’ve had it easy. In taking up old dreams I’m not expecting an easy route, but I pray that this pathbring me closer to Jesus with the help of his Spirit.

The attached photo I felt fitted with many things to do with this post, I took this picture whilst I was in India in 2011. I feel it links well with the bible passage, theres both dark and light, struggle and hope. Theres the struggle of having no idea on what is happening (the darkness) a life without vision or dreams, and a life with Jesus and his hope, his vision, his dream, his love. The barbed wire encompassed the campus on which I stayed whilst I was in Pune, is for me probably the most striking thing in this picture, something that was made to separate has life growing on it. 

Leave a Reply

